The Watchmen

So now is a good time to discuss this, because I happen to be reading the graphic novel The Watchmen right now.  Written by Alan Moore between 1986 and 1987, it was originally published as twelve issues.  I decided to get all of them at once, because I happen to be an instant-gratification-loving American.  Compared to the movie, it’s actually very similar, and if you’ve seen the movie fifty times like I have, you can see some of the instances where they will take a line from one scene of the novel and make it stick out in a significant way in a different way.  I also hear that the ending is different, but nobody tell me what happens.

The movie, however, is probably just as good, if not better, for those who don’t naturally get sucked into something like I and other fanboys do.  There is so much more info, only sort-of implied or left out of the movie, in the comics that I don’t want it to end.  I already know the story, but not the whole story, it appears.  Reading the graphic novel for me is like hearing a story from someone who gets the basic idea and some kool details, and then hearing it retold by someone that knows the whole thing.

Whatever it is about The Watchmen that has drawn so many fans can probably not be discussed all at once, so maybe somebody can lend an opinion.  For me, I’m a big fan of history, and the interesting take on the altering of the twentieth century as a result of superheroes, especially Dr. Manhattan, is what has really drawn me in.  Plus, it takes an interesting trip through the minds of people living in a time of imminent nuclear war, but I’m an English Major, so maybe I’m in a minority that looks for that kind of stuff.  From that perspective, every character in the novel has something to offer in terms of personal experience, strife, struggle, and all of that fun psychological stuff.  If you haven’t seen The Watchmen yet, or better yet read it, then get off the internet and go watch it.  Comment first.  Then go.

Just in case you were trying to think of a way the movie could have been terrible.

Published in: on April 7, 2011 at 8:56 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ovallcorners.wordpress.com/2011/04/07/watchmen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

